Skip to content

Little Shell Tribe of Chippewa Indians of Montana


Little Shell Tribe of Chippewa Indians of Montana, also known as the Little Shell Band of Landless Chippewa Indians of Montana, is an Anishinaabe (Ojibwa) tribe recognized by the State of Montana.  The tribe is a Federally recognized Tribe. The tribe is named after its nineteenth-century leader, Esens, known as "Little Shell".

Due to conflicts with federal authorities in the 19th century, the Little Shell Chippewa Tribe does not have a reservation or land base. Members live in various parts of Montana and elect a government of a chairman and Tribal Council according to their constitution. There are population concentrations in Great Falls, Havre, Lewistown, Helena, Butte, Chinook, Hays, Wolf Point, Hamilton, and Billings, as well as numerous other small communities in the state. Because the tribe has been without a land base for more than 100 years, many members and their descendants live outside of Montana.

Click Here to See Map & Listing of Churches

Click Enlarge Map and then Click Nearby to see all restaurants, gas stations, hotels...etc nearby. This may not appear on phone view.

Additional Information

USGS Region : Northwest
Powered By GrowthZone
Scroll To Top