Skip to content

Spirit Lake Tribe, North Dakota

About Us

The Spirit Lake Tribe (in Santee Dakota: Mni Wakan Oyate, formerly known as Devils Lake Sioux) is a federally recognized tribe based on the Spirit Lake Dakota Reservation located in east-central North Dakota on the southern shores of Devils Lake. It is made up of people of the Pabakse (Iháŋkthuŋwaŋna), Sisseton (Sisíthuŋwaŋ) and Wahpeton (Waȟpéthuŋwaŋ) bands of the Dakota tribe.

Established in 1867 in a treaty between Sisseton-Wahpeton Bands and the United States government, the reservation consists of 495.669 sq mi of land area, primarily in Benson and Eddy counties. Smaller areas extend into Ramsey, Wells and Nelson counties.

According to the tribal enrollment office in 2018, the tribe had 7,256 members enrolled members.  At the time of the U.S. 2010 census, 3,587 members out of a total of 4,238 people (including non-tribal members) were residing on the reservation. The unemployment rate was 47.3% in 2000. The largest community on the reservation is Fort Totten

Click Enlarge Map and then Click Nearby to see all restaurants, gas stations, hotels...etc nearby. This may not appear on phone view.

Additional Information

USGS Region : Midwest
Powered By GrowthZone
Scroll To Top